Dumpster Diving

Dumpster Diving: Do you want that mate?

Dumpster Diving: Do you want that mate?

A few days ago I was watching an old episode of ‘The Ricki Lake Show‘ titled ‘You’re damn cheap!” To my astonishment one of her male guests did Dumpster diving.

My first initial thought was “dumpster what?” This adventureous task involves going through other people’s rubbish and claiming it as your own. This could be from the extremes of household goods, clothes to even food.

The thought of going through someone else’s rubbish… eww! However it is seen an environmental.  How you say? Dumpster diving allows for people to recycle, preserve and reuse any items that may have been deemed as rubbish. Someone’s rubbish is deemed as someone elses treasures.

Here’s a great video from CUTVNOOZE on Youtube about Dumpster Diving across seas.

Freeganism is closely connected to dumpster diving. People employing alternative living strategies with less economy and consumption resources. This deals with salvaging food.

I decided to take this to the streets of Birmingham. Ask them what their thoughts were on ‘Dumpster Diving.’

Sandra Domm, 34 saw it as a;

“vulgar practice… a lowly lifestyle that couldn’t possibly catch on”

Jake Harris, 19, embraced the practice. He said;

“I have never done it but would definitely give it a try.”

Environmentalist’s may embrace this practice as a great means to taking recycling and preservation to the next level. The thought of never really throwing something out. It just being recycled through dumpster diving. In terms of industry and technology, it can never really be wasted. Only passed on from human to human.

A wiki has been created to allow people to give tips on dumpster diving. A great way to share ideas, even if you are thinking about doing it or have done dumpster diving before.

DOWNSIDE

Dumpster diving is not as great as we can think it is. On the down side it deals with identity theft. People have been throwing out their personal belongings, being used by others in fraud situations.

I guess there’s a down side to everything, but it still seems like an idea that is environmentally helpful. Embracing change in the environment, regardless the method.

The published version of this story can be found at Birmingham Recycled.

YOUR THOUGHTS

Cast your vote on ‘Dumpster Diving.’


~ by staycee1 on April 29, 2009.

8 Responses to “Dumpster Diving”

  1. […] Original post by staycee1 […]

  2. I think you’re right about being careful when dumping things that could be used for ID theft. But when it comes to household items it can be shocking that people will not only throw away perfectly usable items, but will also object to someone lifting them from the skip for reuse.
    I used to write for a magazine called The Skip and there were always stories of items which turned out to be antiques turning up in skips. So it’s got to be worth having a look 🙂

  3. Yes I agree with you. Some of the things people have thrown out have been amazing. nThey vare not rubbish at all, but in fact things that aren’t treasured as much to individuals.

    Identity theft can be a scary topic, concerning dumpster diving. Definitely something that people need to be more aware og, especially when throwing away rubbish that is personal. Also remembering that people do go around in their trash.

  4. ok. I’m in love with this post. From start to finish it is funny, engaging, and includes a lot of interesting, quirky facts about a subject many people might not know about! You really got me with the opening line!! I think you were right on target with the freegan thinking also and was something I would have suggested had you not put it into the article. It reminds me of a book by one of my favorite authors Laurie Notaro…which if I can find it I will post the quote from that book also! Basically it was about her poppop taking old bread..I think..from the grocery store to feed animals…she said it funnier! I knew what it was but could see how it might not be commonplace (people don’t seem to do garage sales/block sales here!) great work! lovin’ the poll too!

  5. I’m in love with this post. From start to finish it is funny, engaging, and includes a lot of interesting, quirky facts about a subject many people might not know about! You really got me with the opening line!! I think you were right on target with the freegan thinking also and was something I would have suggested had you not put it into the article. It reminds me of a book by one of my favorite authors Laurie Notaro…which if I can find it I will post the quote from that book also! Basically it was about her poppop taking old bread..I think..from the grocery store to feed animals…she said it funnier! I knew what it was but could see how it might not be commonplace (people don’t seem to do garage sales/block sales here!) great work! lovin’ the poll too!

  6. I’m in love with this post. From start to finish it is funny, engaging, and includes a lot of interesting, quirky facts about a subject many people might not know about! You really got me with the opening line!! I think you were right on target with the freegan thinking also and was something I would have suggested had you not put it into the article. It reminds me of a book by one of my favorite authors Laurie Notaro…which if I can find it I will post the quote from that book also! Basically it was about her poppop taking old bread..I think..from the grocery store to feed animals…she said it funnier! I knew what it was but could see how it might not be commonplace (people don’t seem to do garage sales/block sales here!) great work! lovin’ the poll too!!!

  7. Thank you. I’m glad you like it. I’m glad you can relate some areas to toher areas. E.g. books.

    Feel free to add anything or suggest further debates within this topic.

  8. quick question

    I’ve been lurking around the forum for a while but I have a question to ask. I’m trying to find a legit seller for r4 cards for my nintendo. I’m from germany and I found one site that looks promising [url=http://www.r4karte.de/]nintendo ds r4 seller[/url]

Leave a Reply

 
